Consider Yourself Redeemed This 2019 as Facebook Releases 'Unsend' Feature
Who here has ever had that mini heart attack that was the cause of an accidental Facebook message being sent to the wrong person/s? Yeah, we all have been there.
But never again! Because Facebook has recently released a new unsend feature on messenger. Giving us the ability to delete messages, up to 10 minutes after they’ve been sent out.
The new feature is designed for anyone who has "accidentally sent a message to the wrong group of friends, mistyped something, or simply wanted to remove a message in a chat," Facebook says.
The feature was first teased back in April 2018, and additional details were spotted in the release notes for a Messenger app update in November. Now, it's available for all users. And we’re just grateful to save ourselves from any possible awkward or embarrassing messages to be sent out to the wrong hands.
And ladies and gentleman, this is how we can use the unsend feature:
Since the feature only works for messages that were sent for up to 10 minutes, all you need to do is locate the message you want to "unsend," and long press on the text bubble.
After you press "remove," two options will be available for you: "remove for everyone," which will delete the message for all parties in the chat, or "remove for you," which only deletes the message from your side of the chat, a good option if you want it removed from a screenshot.
Messenger will double-check if you’re sure about deleting the message and take note that the deleted message will be replaced in your chat with a text alerting everyone in the conversation that a message has been removed.
Sounds good enough to save from a lot of trouble this year right?